Lives of the Fellows: From the Faculty of Anaesthetists, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons to the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.

In 1952, 40 men and women formed the Faculty of Anaesthetists at the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. They were some of the leading names of anaesthesia practice in Australia and New Zealand during the 20th Century. Today, the Faculty’s successor, the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthesia, has some 7000 Fellows and trainees.

Lives of the Fellows is an ongoing project uncovering the stories of Faculty and College Fellows presented in an online exhibition from the Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History.

Research for the founding Fellows is still underway. Please view existing biographies online and contact us if you have any further information.


The Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA) is the professional organisation for around 5000 specialist anaesthetists (Fellows) and 2000 anaesthetists in training (trainees).

One of Australasia’s largest specialist medical colleges, ANZCA, along with its Faculty of Pain Medicine, is responsible for the training, examination and specialist accreditation of anaesthetists and pain medicine specialists and for the standards of clinical practice in Australia and New Zealand. The College also plays a significant role in the advancement of anaesthesia in south-east Asia and South Pacific island countries.

ANZCA is governed by the ANZCA Council and employs specialist staff to help achieve its goals.

The College has a proud history in Australia and New Zealand. Learn about ANZCA’s history and hear the stories of some of the people who have contributed to our College and our specialty.

Contact ANZCA